054/365: “What? It’s Snowing In May!”

Danbo and the Twins gets their ATV stuck in some unexpected Spring Snow:

054/365:  "What?  It's Snowing In May!"

Not that the Twins mind; it’s their first time to see the white stuff!

Snow in May!  I’ve only been here in Canada for almost five years now and the weather here is a constant surprise and amazement for me.  I’ve always loved snow and to see it fall right when Summer is just around the corner is some thing magical!

I really had to risk getting the Danbos and my camera getting wet when I ventured out to stage this shot.  It was not that freezing cold and the snow that is falling melts on contact immediately and my Panasonic Lumix GF1 is not weather proof so I had to make sure to tuck it underneath my jacket to protect it.  It did get some drizzle when I whipped it out for the shot.  The lens got some drops of water too so when I got back indoors I had to wipe them off gently, which was good as I hadn’t cleaned it for some time now.

The image was taken yesterday morning, which was a Saturday.  I am having the habit of shooting my images a day early, especially when animation work deadlines beckons.  By now the snow has almost all but melted, but it was fun when it lasted!

More to come; until the next time, have a nice day!

2 thoughts on “054/365: “What? It’s Snowing In May!”

  1. Hi Randy, as said before, I have worked out how much it costs to buy Danbo directly from Amazon Japan.
    1. Dando – JPY 2,205
    2. Danbo mini – JPY 1,000
    3. domestic shipping from Amazon – free
    4. International shipping from Tenso to North America – JPY 2,350 (EMS JPY 1,860 + shipping handling fee JPY 490, based on the weight 680g)
    Total: JPY 5,555 (approximately USD 60 using today’s exchange rate)
    Price from YESASIA:
    1. Danbo mini USD 25.99
    2. Danbo USD 47.99
    3. Free international shipping
    Total USD 74.

    Seems it’s not saving lots of money that way. But if you are thinking of buying other stuff from Japan, and they don’t normally ship outside the country. You might wanna visit http://www.tenso.com/en/toppage/
    As I buy lots of my stuff from Japan (amazon, rakuten) I find it’s very good! (:

Leave a Reply

