082/365: “Is This How I Should Wear A Tutu?”

One of the Twins wanted to take up ballet so Danbo is fashioning a Tutu for the Little One:

082/365:  "Is This How I Should Wear A Tutu?"

The other Twin has a different idea, though.

Should I discuss the gender of my Danbos?

Well, I think I’ve established that my very first Danbo was a female. I did that to be true to the original Danboard character in the Manga series, Yotsuba&!. I believe that in the series, Danboard is a cardboard box robot costume worn by a character named Miura Hayasaka who was a girl.

Establishing my Danbo as a female made sense to me and it made easy to come up with a storyline of her having some adopted “offsprings” in the form of the Twins that we have here.

As for the gender of the Twins, I initially wanted to put a question mark on that since I wanted to go with the story line that you can hardly tell them apart so you just cannot guess which one is a boy or a girl.

That idea went out the window when one day one of our nieces saw the Danbos and pointed out to me that one of the Twins was a boy and the other was a girl. Since I want to respect the child’s pure and innocent view of the world, I decided that that be the case with my set of Twins. I don’t know if anyone has noticed, but I deliberately try to pose the Twins in such a way that one looks more feminine, shy and demure and the other more bold and aggressive. Not that I view girls and boys that way, of course.

So there you go, hopefully that establishes who my Danbos are. The really cool thing is that there are maybe thousands of Danbo owners out there, some are called a “she” and some a “he”. It’s totally cool as the character’ design, in my opinion, can be either of the two.

MIne just happens to be female, with a set of Twins of both gender!

More to come; until the next time, have a nice day!

Leave a Reply

