117/365: Taking Stock and Comparing Gear.

The weather outside was not too good today so my Little Danbo Family stayed indoors and took stock of all the camera gear that they have right now:

117/365: Taking Stock and Comparing Gear.

Wanted to do something different and tried the light box that I made out of white foam board. I used the glass sliding door from our TV cabinet to create the reflection. I played around with spot metering and metered off between Danbo’s skin tone and the background to get just the right exposure and balance between the characters and the white background. I have mastered using my camera’s AE/AF lock button when doing this spot metering thing and I usually am happy with the exposure that I get from this technique.

Discovering smaller apertures too. I usually shoot wide open, at around f/1.8 to f/2.8, depending on my lens. I have been shooting at around f/8 with my some of my scenes recently to be able to get everything in focus. My tripod helps a lot with this as the shutter speed really slows down.

I guess it would be more appealing if I had more colourful objects against the “endless white background”, but it will do.

It was also the first time in a long while that I used my Panasonic Lumix 20mm f/1.7 Pancake Lens to shoot a scene. I have been enjoying using my Nikon lenses adapted to the Panasonic Lumix GF1 a lot and have been liking the image quality that I have been getting from the combination.

People have been asking so here goes again: miniature Nikon I got from eBay, the “Canon” I bought from Photojojo.

My current favorite right now is my Nikkor AF 50mm 1.8 D. I used to own one when I still had my Nikon D300 DSLR, but I sold it after I got rid of that camera body. I missed it so much that I bought one again.

For really close shots, I use my second hand Micro-Nikkor AF 60mm 2.8 D. In my opinion, this lens is more flexible than my 50mm in that I can do really close up shots with this it along with using it as a general, mild telephoto lens. I just prefer the 50mm for its compact size and lightness.

I hope the weather tomorrow will be nicer so that I can do an outdoor shoot. My Little Danbo Family is itching to try out their new gear.

More to come; until the next time, have a nice day!

Leave a Reply

