We Lost A Pillar Of The Family.

The Bartolo Clan here in Canada, to which I am an extended member, has lost a most beloved pillar of the family.

My Father-In-Law, Salvador Bartolo, also known to me and perhaps to everyone I know as “Tatay Ador”, passed away last January 15, 2014.

He is survived by his wife, Nanay Pacing, and his five sons and daughters, and a wealth of grandchildren. His passing has brought these people tremendous grief and sorrow.

I only have the fondest memories of my Tatay Ador. Ever since I met him, I have known him to be an extremely jovial man: quick on the draw, especially with a witty quip, which never fails to bring smiles and laughter to everyone around. He may be small in stature, but his humour is great, and so was his achievement in life as evidence to how established and successful with their own families his sons and daughters have become. I know this for a fact, as does he, because our every conversations have always been about how proud he is of it, considering his humble beginnings as a simple farmer back in San Carlos, Pangasinan in the Philippines.

His passing has been a shock to everyone because even at the ripe old age of 71 and about to be a year older this coming March, Tatay Ador was till able-bodied and sharp in mind.

I am not a deeply religious person, but I am now finding myself praying to a Higher Authority for the repose of his soul and for strength for his grieving family. To anyone who cares, please share with me this prayer.

I will miss you dearly, Tatay. Thank you for accepting me into your family and allowing me to take your daughter as my wife. Your good person must have rubbed off on me because I have been trying my hardest to be just like the man that you are. You will always be remembered with the fondest of memories. Until we see each other again.

Leave a Reply

