BB-8: Aren’t You a Little Short for a Stormtooper?

BB-8 inspects one of my LEGO Stormtrooper and find it lacking in size:

23584527915_e8544c5de6_c

I am very proud of this shot!  I’ve had this idea rolling in my head of putting arms on BB-8 since I saw one of the commercials featuring BB-8 interfacing with a computer, very much like how R2-D2 would deploy its droid arms to do stuff, like interfacing with the central computer of the Milleneum Falcon or help fix a broken C-3PO.

The arm is made up of parts that I have in my LEGO bin.  It took me a while to find just the right colour and components, but eventually came up with the basics that I need.  The nice thing about it is that its LEGO parts, so its modular and I can reuse other parts to come up with different arms.

Very much like how I created my custom bent-arms for Danbo, I believe I am the first to do this to BB-8.  It’s my way of making my future BB-8 photos unique.  There’s so much you can do with a droid shaped like a sphere, so when I saw that commercial confirming that BB-8 has deployable droid arms, I knew I just had to make one for my BB-8.  It surely will open up a lot of possibilities in posing in the future.

Here’s my custom arms for Danbo:

 

5590220840_eb925c1ab6_z

5591697191_a4391b2489_z

 

This photo was taken April 2011, way back when I was still into doing my Danbo photography. These photos got a lot of folks who follow me on Flickr asking me where I got the arms.  Ofcourse, you can’t get them anywhere unless you are brave enough to modify the existing arms of your Danbo.

I am not sure if anyone else has thought about doing it, so I am really proud to claim that I was the first.  It’s now the same feeling I have with my custom arms for BB-8.

Author: randymsantaana

I am an Animator and my business is in the creation of animation for television broadcast. I used to work as an Architect and Interior Designer, but I have since shifted into animation because it's more fun to work with and it makes me feel like a kid once more. I used to work for one of the top animation studios in Manila, Philippines but in 2005 my wife and I moved to Calgary, Canada. I now conduct my animation business at my own studio/office here at the basement of my home.

Leave a comment